Index

Introduction https://history.pictures/2020/01/17/introduction-2/

Chapter 1. Contemporary Evaluations https://history.pictures/2020/01/17/chapter-1-contemporary-evaluations-2/

Chapter 2. General Study https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/chapter-2-general-study/

2.1. Introduction to the Industrial Revolution in England https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/2-1-introduction-to-the-industrial-revolution-in-england/

2.2. Development of Monetary Income and Real Income https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/2-2-development-of-monetary-income-and-real-income/

2.3. Development of Living and Working Conditions https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/2-3-development-of-living-and-working-conditions/

2.4. Time Frame https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/2-4-time-frame/

2.5. Non-representative Regions and Industries https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/2-5-non-representative-regions-and-industries/

Chapter 3. Growth of the Cotton , Worsted, Woollen, and Metals Industries https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/chapter-3-growth-of-the-cotton-worsted-woolen-and-metals-industries/

3.1. The Growth of the Lancashire Cotton Industry https://history.pictures/2020/01/20/3-1-the-growth-of-the-lancashire-cotton-industry/

3.2. Monetary Income Levels https://history.pictures/2020/01/21/3-2-monetary-income-levels/

3.3. Family Budgets https://history.pictures/2020/01/22/3-3-family-budgets/

3.4. The Worsted Industry in the West Riding https://history.pictures/2020/01/22/3-4-the-worsted-industry-in-the-west-riding/

3.5. The Woollen Industry (Cloth) https://history.pictures/2020/01/22/3-5-the-woollen-industry-cloth/

3.6. The Metal Industries in the West Midlands https://history.pictures/2020/01/23/3-6-the-metal-industries-in-the-west-midlands/

Chapter 4. How was Life for the People before the Industrial Revolution https://history.pictures/2020/01/23/chapter-4-how-was-life-for-the-people-before-the-industrial-revolution/

4.1. Where did these Persons come from? https://history.pictures/2020/01/23/4-1-where-did-these-persons-come-from/

4.2. How did they Live? https://history.pictures/2020/01/24/4-2-how-did-they-live/

4.3. How long did they Live? https://history.pictures/2020/01/24/4-3-how-long-did-they-live/

4.4. What were their Monetary Incomes? https://history.pictures/2020/01/24/4-4-what-were-their-monetary-incomes/

Chapter 5. How was their new Life in the Factory? https://history.pictures/2020/01/30/chapter-5-how-was-their-new-life-in-the-factory

5.1. Long Working Hours https://history.pictures/2020/01/31/5-1-long-working-hours/

5.2. Working Conditions https://history.pictures/2020/02/03/5-2-working-conditions/

5.3. Children’s Employment https://history.pictures/2020/02/03/5-3-childrens-employment/

5.4. Life in the Mills outside the Towns https://history.pictures/2020/02/04/5-4-life-in-the-mills-outside-the-towns/

5.5. New Wage Conditions in the Factory https://history.pictures/2020/02/04/5-5-new-wage-conditions-in-the-factory/

Chapter 6. How was their New Life in the Town? https://history.pictures/2020/02/05/chapter-6-how-was-their-new-life-in-the-town/

6.1. Housing https://history.pictures/2020/02/05/6-1-housing/

6.2. Sanitation https://history.pictures/2020/02/05/6-2-sanitation/

6.3. Poor Areas of the Cities https://history.pictures/2020/02/05/6-3-poor-areas-of-the-cities/

6.4. Child Mortality https://history.pictures/2020/02/06/6-4-child-mortality/

6.5. Life Expectancy https://history.pictures/2020/02/07/6-5-life-expectancy/

6.6. Industrial Diseases and Pollution https://history.pictures/2020/02/07/6-6-industrial-diseases-and-pollution/

Chapter 7. The Poverty of the Domestic Hand-Loom Cotton Weavers https://history.pictures/2020/02/07/chapter-7-the-poverty-of-the-domestic-hand-loom-cotton-weavers/

7.1. Extreme Reduction of Income and Living Standards https://history.pictures/2020/02/07/7-1-extreme-reduction-of-income-and-living-standards/

7.2. Reduction of Wages in 1817 and the Export of Twist https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-2-reduction-of-wages-in-1817-and-the-exportation-of-twist/

7.3. The Business Model of the Cotton Industry https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-3-the-business-model-of-the-cotton-industry/

7.4. Second Depression of Wages 1826 https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-4-second-depression-of-wages-1826/

7.5. Lack of Negative Effects of the Power Loom https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-5-lack-of-negative-effects-of-the-power-loom/

7.6. Low Wages and High Volumes around 1830-1834 https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-6-low-wages-and-high-volumes-around-1830-1834/

7.7. Over-Production and Home Consumption https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-7-over-production-and-home-competition/

7.8. Composition of Costs of the Wholesaler https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-8-composition-of-costs-of-the-wholesaler/

7.9. Reasons adduced to the Committees in 1834 and 1835 https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-9-reasons-adduced-to-the-committees-in-1834-and-1835/

7.10. Wages and Employment after 1835 https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/7-10-wages-and-employment-after-1835/

Chapter 8. Engels https://history.pictures/2020/02/08/chapter-8-engels/

Chapter 9. Non-Income Parameters https://history.pictures/2020/02/10/chapter-9-non-income-parameters/

9.1. Consumption of Cereals https://history.pictures/2020/02/10/9-1-consumption-of-cereals/

9.2. Changes in Cereals https://history.pictures/2020/02/10/9-2-changes-in-cereals

9.3. Consumption of Meat https://history.pictures/2020/02/10/9-3-consumption-of-meat/

9.3A. Consumption of Other Foods https://history.pictures/2020/10/21/9-4-consumption-of-other-foods/

9.4. Food in London https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/9-4-food-in-london/

9.5. Northern Culinary Culture https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/9-5-northern-culinary-culture/

9.6. Heights https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/9-6-heights/

Chapter 10. Leisure Expenses, Savings and Education, Non-Financial Improvements https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/chapter-10-leisure-expenses-savings-and-education-non-financial-improvements/

10.1. Leisure Expenses https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/10-1-leisure-expenses/

10.2. Savings Banks and Benefit Societies https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/10-2-savings-banks-and-benefit-societies/

10.3. Mechanics’ Institutes and Reading Activities https://history.pictures/2020/02/12/10-3-mechanics-institutes-and-reading-activities/

10.4. Drunkenness https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-4-drunkenness/

10.5. Prostitutes https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-5-prostitutes/

10.6. Improvements which were not Increases in Monetary Earnings https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-6-improvements-which-were-not-increases-in-monetary-earnings/

10.7. Efficiency and Price Reductions https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-7-efficiency-and-price-reductions/

10.8. Truck Shops, Tommy Shops, and Chandler’s Shops https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-8-truck-shops-tommy-shops-and-chandlers-shops/

10.9. Co-Operative Societies https://history.pictures/2020/02/13/10-9-co-operative-societies/

Chapter 11. Wages and Living Conditions of Agricultural Labourers 1770-1815 https://history.pictures/2020/02/16/chapter-11-wages-and-living-conditions-of-agricultural-labourers-1770-1815/

11.1. External Factors https://history.pictures/2020/02/16/11-1-external-factors/

11.2. Incomes https://history.pictures/2020/02/18/11-2-incomes/

11.3. Wheat Prices https://history.pictures/2020/02/20/11-3-wheat-prices/

11.4. Purchasing Power of the Wages https://history.pictures/2020/02/20/11-4-purchasing-power-of-the-wages/

11.5. Price Increases in 1795 and 1800 and Reactions https://history.pictures/2020/02/20/11-5-price-increases-in-1795-and-1800-and-reactions/

11.6. Absolute Figures as to the Standard of Living https://history.pictures/2020/02/20/11-6-absolute-figures-as-to-the-standard-of-living/

11.7. Jonas Hanway (1767) and Arthur Young (1771) https://history.pictures/2020/02/20/11-7-jonas-hanway-1767-and-arthur-young-1771/

11.8. David Davies (1787) https://history.pictures/2020/02/21/11-8-david-davies-1787/

11.9. Sir Frederick Eden (1795-6) https://history.pictures/2020/02/22/11-9-sir-frederick-eden-1795-6/

11.10. Other Sources of Food, Other Incomes, Cottagers https://history.pictures/2020/02/25/11-10-other-sources-of-food-other-incomes-cottagers/

11.11. Types of Work Contract in Different Counties https://history.pictures/2020/02/25/11-11-types-of-work-contract-in-different-counties/

11.12. Cost of Living Indices https://history.pictures/2020/02/25/11-12-cost-of-living-indices/

11.13. Real Wages https://history.pictures/2020/02/25/11-13-real-wages/

11.14. Threshing Machines https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/11-14-threshing-machines/

11.15. Calculation of Total Income https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/11-15-calculation-of-total-income/

11.16. Housing https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/11-16-housing/

11.17. Poor Rates https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/11-17-poor-rates/

Chapter 12. Wages and Living Conditions of Agricultural Labourers 1815-1860 https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/chapter-12-wages-and-living-conditions-of-agricultural-labourers-1815-1860/

12.1. Wages https://history.pictures/2020/02/26/12-1-wages/

12.2. Totality of Earnings https://history.pictures/2020/02/27/12-2-totality-of-earnings/

12.3. Wheat Prices https://history.pictures/2020/02/28/12-3-wheat-prices/

12.4. Standard of Living 1815-1834 https://history.pictures/2020/02/28/12-4-standard-of-living-1815-1834/

12.5. The New Poor Law https://history.pictures/2020/02/28/12-5-the-new-poor-law-1834/

12.6. Real Family Budgets https://history.pictures/2020/02/28/12-6-real-family-budgets/

12.7. Conditions of the Labourers 1834-1860 https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-7-conditions-of-the-labourers-1834-1860/

12.8. New Implements https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-8-new-implements/

12.9. Calculation of Cost of Living https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-9-calculation-of-cost-of-living/

12.10. Real Wages https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-10-real-wages/

12.11. Wages, Expenses, Real Wages, 1770-1860 https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-11-wages-expenses-real-wages-1770-1860/

12.12. Comparison 1770 to 1850 https://history.pictures/2020/02/29/12-12-comparison-1770-to-1850/

12.13. Wage Levels 1868 https://history.pictures/2020/03/01/12-13-wage-levels-1868/

12.14. Cottages, Allotments, Potatoes, Cows https://history.pictures/2020/03/01/12-14-cottages-allotments-potatoes-cows/

Chapter 13. The Swing Riots https://history.pictures/2020/03/03/chapter-13-the-swing-riots/

13.1. Threshing Machines https://history.pictures/2020/03/03/13-1-threshing-machines/

13.2. The Swing Riots -Dimensions https://history.pictures/2020/03/04/13-2-the-swing-riots/

13.3 Incomes and Food Level https://history.pictures/2020/03/04/13-3-incomes-and-food-level/

13.4. Appearance of the Men https://history.pictures/2020/03/07/13-4-appearance-of-the-men/

13.5. Kent and East Sussex https://history.pictures/2020/03/07/13-5-kent-and-east-sussex/

13.6. Violence in Kent and Sussex https://history.pictures/2020/03/07/13-6-violence-in-kent-and-sussex/

13.7. Wiltshire, Hampshire, Berkshire https://history.pictures/2020/03/07/13-7-wiltshire-hampshire-berkshire/

13.8. Defense of the Farms by the Labourers https://history.pictures/2020/03/08/13-8-defence-of-the-farms-by-the-labourers/

13.9. Beer Drinking and Beer Houses https://history.pictures/2020/03/08/13-9-beer-drinking-and-beer-houses/

13.10. Violence against Farmers https://history.pictures/2020/03/08/13-10-violence-against-farmers/

Chapter 14. Developments and Wages in the Other Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/14/chapter-14-developments-and-wages-in-the-other-occupations/

14.1. Most Important Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/14/14-1-most-important-occupations/

14.2. Labourers https://history.pictures/2020/03/14/14-2-labourers/

14.3. Boot and Shoe Makers https://history.pictures/2020/03/15/14-3-boot-and-shoe-makers/

14.4. Milliners, Dressmakers, Seamstresses, Shirtmakers https://history.pictures/2020/03/15/14-4-milliners-dressmakers-seamstresses-shirtmakers/

14.5. Coal Miners https://history.pictures/2020/03/15/14-5-coal-miners/

14.6. Carpenters, Joiners, Masons, Bricklayers https://history.pictures/2020/03/16/14-6-carpenters-joiners-masons-bricklayers/

14.7. Tailors https://history.pictures/2020/03/16/14-7-tailors/

14.8. Silk Manufacture https://history.pictures/2020/03/17/14-8-silk-manufacture/

14.9. Hose (Stocking) Manufacture https://history.pictures/2020/03/18/14-9-hose-stocking-manufacture/

14.10. Lace Manufacture https://history.pictures/2020/03/18/14-10-lace-manufacture/

14.11. The Pottery Industry in Staffordshire https://history.pictures/2020/03/18/14-11-the-pottery-industry-in-staffordshire

14.12. Mechanics https://history.pictures/2020/03/19/14-12-mechanics/

14.13. Printers https://history.pictures/2020/03/19/14-13-printers/

14.14. Railways https://history.pictures/2020/03/19/14-14-railways/

14.15. New Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/19/14-15-new-occupations/

Chapter 15. The Poor https://history.pictures/2020/03/21/chapter-15-the-poor/

15.1. The Underclass https://history.pictures/2020/03/21/15-1-the-underclass/

15.2. “Dickens’ London” https://history.pictures/2020/03/21/15-2-dickens-london/

15.3. Poverty in the Countryside https://history.pictures/2020/03/23/15-3-poverty-in-the-countryside/

15.4. Unemployment and Slumps https://history.pictures/2020/03/23/15-4-unemployment-and-slumps/

15.5. Treatment of Children outside of the Textile Industries https://history.pictures/2020/03/23/15-5-treatment-of-children-outside-of-the-textile-industries/

15.6. Reasons for Extreme Poverty https://history.pictures/2020/03/23/15-6-reasons-for-extreme-poverty/

Chapter 16. Calculations of Movements in Nominal Wages, Cost of Living, and Real Wages https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/chapter-16-calculations-of-movements-in-nominal-wages-cost-of-living-and-real-wages/

16.1. Wages in Non-Agricultural Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-1-wages-in-non-agricultural-occupations/

16.2. Living Costs for Non-Agricultural Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-2-living-costs-for-non-agricultural-occupations/

16.3. Expenses Indices, Agricultural and Non-Agricultural https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-3-expenses-indices-agricultural-and-non-agricultural/

16.4. Movements in Real Wages, Agricultural and Non-Agricultural https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-4-movements-in-real-wages-agricultural-and-non-agricultural/

16.5. Wages, Expenses, and Real Wages, for Agricultural plus Non-Agricultural Occupations https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-5-wages-expenses-and-real-wages-for-agricultural-plus-non-agricultural-occupations/

16.6. Necessary Corrections https://history.pictures/2020/03/24/16-6-necessary-corrections/

Chapter 17. Solutions https://history.pictures/2020/03/25/chapter-17-solutions/

17.1. Apparent Contradictions https://history.pictures/2020/03/25/17-1-apparent-contradictions/

17.2. Increased “Job Density” per Family https://history.pictures/2020/03/25/17-2-increased-job-density-per-family/

17.3. Good Wage Levels at the Beginning of the Industrial Revolution https://history.pictures/2020/03/26/17-3-good-wage-levels-at-the-beginning-of-the-industrial-revolution/

17.4. Excess of Family Income over Basic Costs https://history.pictures/2020/03/27/17-4-excess-of-family-income-over-basic-costs/

17.5. The Retail Prices Index did not necessarily move in Step with the Wholesale Prices https://history.pictures/2020/03/27/17-5-the-retail-prices-index-did-not-necessarily-move-in-step-with-the-wholesale-prices/

17.6. Geographical Distribution https://history.pictures/2020/03/27/17-6-geographical-distribution/

17.7. The Textile Districts were not very Large https://history.pictures/2020/03/27/17-7-the-textile-districts-were-not-very-large/

17.8. Increase of the Services Sector https://history.pictures/2020/03/27/17-8-increase-of-the-services-sector/

17.9. Installation of Infrastructure without Charge to Wage Earners https://history.pictures/2020/03/28/17-9-installation-of-infrastructure-without-charge-to-wage-earners/

17.10. Contradictory “Optical” Assumptions https://history.pictures/2020/03/28/17-10-contradictory-optical-assumptions/

Chapter 18. Conclusions https://history.pictures/2020/03/30/chapter-18-conclusions/

Chapter 19. The Point of View of the Worker https://history.pictures/2020/03/30/chapter-19-the-point-of-view-of-the-worker/

Works Consulted 18th and 19th Centuries https://history.pictures/2020/04/04/works-consulted-18th-and-19th-centuries/

Works Consulted 20th and 21st Centuries https://history.pictures/2020/04/13/works-consulted-20th-and-21st-centuries/

Maps https://history.pictures/2020/05/27/maps/